Looking for a Way

“If you really want to do something, you’ll find a way. If you don’t, you’ll find an excuse.” – Jim Rohn

When I don’t do something, there’s always a reason why I don’t.  I don’t commit to early morning activities because with my chronic illness I don’t do mornings.  I don’t ride my bike because I’m too tired, busy, cold, or uncomfortable.  I don’t call my family members because I have “phone phobia”.  There’s always a reason.

I read this quote last weekend and I started to think about “reasons” vs. “excuses”.  It’s easy to label all “reasons” as “excuses” and at first I reacted with shame:  “If you REALLY WANTED to, you’d find a way” (spoken to myself with a sarcastic sneer).  <sigh>

After just a little thought, though, I realized that this quote could be used as a “WANT TO” test for myself.  Any of the “reasons” I give could be legitimate obstacles, but my reaction to them can give me insight into what I really WANT to do!  Am I spending my energy on finding ways around those obstacles?  …or trying to find more obstacles to put in my way (excuses)?

Now I can see that an excuse is just an indicator that I don’t really want to do the job/project/activity in the first place.

So, when contemplating an activity and I’m not sure whether I can do it, or whether I even want to do it, I can ask myself:  What do I see myself looking for?  If I’m looking for a WAY, then keep at, sister!  But if I’m looking for a WAY OUT, then I can let it go.  Sweet…

Leave a Reply

