Hope: What is It?

I recently attended a recovery meeting where we were encouraged to spend a few minutes writing about various topics. I chose to write about “Hope” and what it means to have hope during difficult circumstances.

Hope:  What is It?

It’s the belief that today’s circumstances are not necessarily permanent. I may not always see a way out of my dark tunnel, but HOPE tells me that there IS an end to whatever I’m currently suffering; even if the circumstances never change, I have hope that *I* can change.

Hope isn’t just wishful thinking; it’s not living in fantasy. It, along with FAITH, is the belief that even though I can’t SEE it, I can trust G-d (my higher power, my higher self) and can become willing to do TODAY’s footwork, knowing that the results are in G-d’s hands.

 

Leave a Reply

