One Day at a Time for the Rest of My Life

“Repetition is the only form of permanence that nature can achieve.” — George Santayana

When I entered “recovery rooms”, I heard, “You’ll have to abstain from using your substance for the rest of your life.”  But they also told me, “You only have to abstain for the next 24 hours.”  Huh?  At first that seemed like a contradiction, but I’ve learned that really deep truths often present themselves as contradictions; paradoxes, if you will.

Insanity has been defined as this:  “Doing the same thing over and over, expecting different results”.  If what I’d been doing had got me in the (bad) place I was, then I’d better learn some new ways of “doing”–and QUICK!   The flip side is that if I find something that works, KEEP ON DOING IT!

Thus for me, any “permanent recovery” will come from doing DAILY the things that work, and choosing to not do the things that don’t work.

In recovery, “Permanent” means “One Day at a Time”.  It means that I have HOPE for the long term, but I only have to do the WORK of today.  Long term hope gives me courage; doing today’s work keeps my life manageable.

For today I will ask for long term hope, and daily strength.

Leave a Reply

